Literary Agents and Book Publishing Consultants ______________________________________________
     Literary Agents and Book Publishing Consultants______________________________________________ 

Dalzell Press

Introducing Dalzell Press, the publishing arm of the Feldstein Agency. Dedicated to ensuring that all of our literary agency’s clients’ works are in print. First titles due in June, so watch this space.

Published in July 2018

The Sugar Sugar Cafe                                           Literary Fiction


by Michael Sheehan


Publication Date:  July 3rd, 2018


Order from Amazon:  Paperback:  £12.00   Click Here


                                             E Book:          £7.99    Click Here   



In a series of interlinking episodes and intertwining stories, this book looks at the lives, lived out in quiet (or not so quiet) desperation, of a cast of ‘ordinary’ individuals in a small town on the outskirts of Cork city in Ireland in the dark days after the 2008 financial crash. The action centres on The Sugar Sugar Café – a small, ‘greasy spoon’ café in Rathluirc – but encompasses other locations as far flung as Manila and New York city, as the story shifts between past and present, between comedy and tragedy, between fantasy and grim reality.


A bleak yet compelling narrative, told through the alternating perspectives of each of the key characters, hammers home the extent to which, for so many people, daily life is mostly taken up with a gruelling struggle to simply get by, and isolation and frustration are an inevitable part of the everyday routine. This sense of hopelessness is alleviated, however, by many moments of dark humour – and above all, by the rich and often surprising inner lives of these individuals, into which we as readers are given a privileged glimpse.


Dark and yet funny, tragic and yet comic, the ‘nasty, brutish and short’ lives depicted in this compelling novel are rescued from despair by the deep humanity and compassion of the writer who has conceived them.



The Confession of Peadar Gibbons                    Literary Fiction


By Declan Varley


Publication Date  3 July 2018


Order from Amazon:  Paperback:  £12.00    Click Here


                                             E Book:  £7.99             Click Here



Lorna Cuddy was used to getting feature story suggestions from her dad back home. Most centred on five-legged donkeys or the dangers of fairy forts. However, none fascinated the Pulitzer-winning, Irish-born writer, as much as this one. This time, he was part of the story. And so was she. 


Her dad’s childhood friend Peadar Gibbons, had, on his fiftieth birthday, walked into his local Garda police station in a west of Ireland town, saying he had some things to get off his chest. But Peadar was deemed 'harmless’, a man who had lived on the fringes of society; extra-average. Just another solitary life in a small town.


It was a Sunday evening. A quiet one. And tea-time in the police station. Not a time for big confessions. So the officer sent him home with the advice to ‘write it all down.’ After all, Peadar liked writing short stories, and had penned ‘posh poems that didn't rhyme’.


Taking down his Remington typewriter and punching out fifty chapters of a life less ordinary, Peadar would later present the Gardai with what they described as the ‘most elaborate document of admission the force had ever receive.’ Written with a frankness befitting a man who wanted to be unburdened; to be noticed though not stared at; to be talked of, not talked about. 


Struggling to find his way in a changing Ireland; not good enough to deserve a decent chance at home. Not confident enough to try his luck overseas.  Stuck in a life of horror, incidents, and consequences.  


Left with nothing but his confession.

Published in June 2018


Then The Walls Came Down    by Danny Morrison   


Danny Morrison's Classic Prison Diary 


“Remarkable as a human document... The flashes of humour and compassion bear comparison with those in Brendan Behan’s Borstal Boy. A must-read for anyone interested in the North - Irish Times


Order from Amazon:  Paperback £12.00    Click Here


                                             Ebook         £  6.99     Click Here


Danny Morrison came to prominence as an activist in the Republican Movement in the 1970s before he became a recognised writer. He was imprisoned several times and twice charged with IRA membership. In 1981 he acted as spokesperson for the IRA hunger striker Bobby Sands and later coined the phrase ‘The Armalite and the Ballot Box’ to describe the republican strategy of waging armed struggle and engaging in electoral politics. He was Sinn Féin’s National Director of Publicity for eleven years and edited the party’s newspaper, An Phoblacht. He was also elected to the Northern Ireland Assembly. He escaped several attempts on his life by the British Army and loyalist paramilitaries.


Morrison was, in his own words, a ‘reluctant’ but enthusiastic activist, and had always wanted to be a writer. In 1990 he was arrested and charged with conspiracy to murder, kidnapping and IRA membership.


From prison, in a series of letters, mostly to his partner but also to friends and comrades, Morrison began to reflect on his own life, and the stalemate and impasse in the northern Irish conflict. He also began to develop his own ideas about writing and the creative process. His prison writings have been compared to those of Brendan Behan and his descriptions of the experience of imprisonment on himself, his comrades and their families are candid, sometimes deeply personal, and often very humorous.


Then The Walls Came Down will not only be of interest to students of politics, history, current affairs and media studies, but will also appeal to the general reader in its study of human nature and character.




The Feldstein Agency

54 Abbey Street

Bangor  N. Ireland

BT20 4JB


+44 (0) 2891 472823

To follow us on Twitter click below:    

Print Print | Sitemap
© 2007-2018 The Feldstein Agency